Health Benefits: Chia Seeds

So as you may have seen, yesterday I posted a recipe for Chia Pudding and I thought it would be interesting to talk about why chia seeds are good for you! As you may or may not know, I love making healthy recipes and chia is one of them.

One of the main reasons I love chia seeds is because they are full of fiber! Fiber pushes food through your intestines faster which help stop you feel full. I love eating chia pudding as a snack because it keeps me full until its time for the next meal. Chia seeds also act as a scrubbing brush while traveling through your intestines. What that means is, chia seeds help clean out any bacteria or buildup in your intestines.

Chia seedsย are also high in protein. Protein is important for every single cell of the body. Of course theres a lot more to say but know that the bottom line is, proteinย VERY good for you! They also contain calcium which is essential for healthy bones. Your heart, muscles, and nerves also need calcium to function properly. Chia seeds also contain magnesium which help control the levels of calcium in your body. As I mentioned before calcium plays a big part in your heart functioning properly, so magnesium makes sure you have just the right amount of calcium you need.

While we’ve only scratched the surface, you can see that chia seeds have lots of amazing health benefits, and the recipe I shared earlier is SO easy to make! (Check it out here.) My favorite part about chia seeds is how easy they are to incorporate into your diet. Next time you make a smoothie mix some chia seeds in or sprinkle them on your yogurt. While the texture is a little weird at first, I got over it the second I realized how good it made me feel. If you ever eat a really big dinner and feel like you can’t move, chia pudding makes a great dessert (and make sure to have lots of fun with toppings) and bring you back to your normal self after a heavy meal.

Since this is my first type of post like this, let me know how you like it and how I can improve!

And if you end up making chia pudding, share your pictures and experience with me!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

